Motion Sensor Sound Trigger for Golf Ball

Hi,

I'm new to using Arduino so please excuse my amateur approach.
I'm working on a new crazy golf course where I'm looking to trigger a sound when the golf ball goes through a particular area of the course.

I have an uno and some PIR motion sensors and am looking into buying this sound board/player which will run into some active powered speakers.

My issue is that i'm worried a PIR sensor won't pick up the golf ball as it doesn't emit radiation, and all the examples of motion triggered sound I've looked into have been for motion from something that does emit radiation.

Any idea's or help towards a way I can make this work will be super appreciated :slight_smile:

Caleb_Watson:
My issue is that i'm worried a PIR sensor won't pick up the golf ball

Since you already...

Caleb_Watson:
I have an uno and some PIR motion sensors

... and presumably have some golf balls (or access to) why not just try it? Turn the built in led off and on...

A PIR will not be triggered by golf balls, unless they're going so fast they burn into flames, but then they're probably moving too fast for the thing to detect the balls. A PIR detects motion of warm objects, such as mammals (such as the neighbour's cat and the neighbour herself) and the hot engine of cars. Not golf balls.

The hard, really hard thing will be to detect a golf ball flying by. At least, I guess you're looking for flying golf balls, as you only gave the vague description "goes through a particular area". That part has to be much better defined before we can even start considering sensors.

wvmarle:
A PIR will not be triggered by golf balls

I just tried it with a lump of plastic, golf ball sized, it triggered.

wvmarle:
I guess you're looking for flying golf balls

Caleb_Watson:
crazy golf

... is quite low speed, on the ground.

You have the kit OP: test it.

...but in any case, you could use a break beam IR (not PIR).