Multiple LDRs detection erratic

Hello all,

This is my first Arduino project, I'm a software developer at heart! :slight_smile:

I discussed my project initially on this board on another thread Which Arduino to buy for this project? - Project Guidance - Arduino Forum... basically controlling 8x relays with the digital out pins, while monitoring the signals in from 4x LDRs on the analog pins. This is all controlled from a PC application. To be frank, I have been amazed at how easy it has been so far: all the relays are now being controlled, messages are flowing back and forward from the Uno to my app on the PC and I can get signal sent back from the LDRs. However the LDRs are giving me a bit of an issue.

I have modified a sample program for using one LDR to light a single LED when the sensor is in low light to try and monitor 4 - as that is what I will need to be doing on my app. The sensors themselves will located one per groove of the track, sharing a constant light source above. When the car passes I need to detect it and send the signal back to the PC.

The problems I'm getting are that the sensors seem - well - flaky! I have tried various sensors, so I think its to do with my config or circuit. Is there something I'm missing? Has anyone got any advice?

I have included my test program code below, as well as a schematic of the test build project as it stands.

Hope someone can assist.

Mark

int iLightPins[4] = {0,1,2,3};
int iLEDPins[4] = {13,12,11,10};

void setup() {
  Serial.begin(9600);
  Serial.println("SETUP");
  for (int i=0; i<4; i++) {
    pinMode(iLEDPins[i], OUTPUT);
  }
}

void loop() {
  int iLightPin = -1;
  int iLEDPin = -1;
  int iRead = -1;
  int iWrite =  -1;
  for (int i=0; i<4; i++) {
    iLightPin = iLightPins[i];
    iLEDPin = iLEDPins[i];
    iRead = analogRead(iLightPin);
    Serial.println(iLightPin + " - " + iRead);
    iWrite = iRead / 4;
    analogWrite(iLEDPin, iWrite);
  }
  delay(100);
}

SlotBox.fzz (10.9 KB)