My new Funnel IO mocks me

So, I am a newb and I am thinking, maybe Funnel IO was not the way to go for my trial run.

So I turn it on, XBee's happily configured, and I try all the tricks I have read everywhere and all I get is the frustrating:

avrdude: stk500_getsync(): not in sync: resp=0x00
avrdude: stk500_disable(): protocol error, expect=0x14, resp=0x51

All my Funnel IO does is blink. How it blinks is, it starts off slowly, then is accelerates. It follows this cycle for 10 seconds, then repeats.

Now, I am under the impression that the Funnel IO has the same firmware/bootloader as the Lilypad. This information from Sparkfun, where I got the Funnel. I looked at the bootloader source and it does not describe this blinking routine I am seeing.

If the Funnel IO is blinking it's status to me, then I can't find documentation on line about what it is trying to say.

I know Shigeru Kobayashi posts on this board, I was wondering if I could pick his brain.

I have followed so many different how to's that I'm dizzy, and if I am just banging my head against something that isn't listening, that would explain so much

What does this blink sequence mean?

Are you trying to program it over the Xbee? Did you get the correct Xbee modules that support the wireless programming? Do you have the correct com port selected in the IDE? I'm not sure what the current status is, but when I last looked into it people were still having trouble uploading larger sketches. The blink is the default program loaded on Arduino to test before shipping. Have you tried the usb cable?

Hello Digger, thanks for your responce.

1st. The Xbee's are configured as instructed and are the models expected (however, baudrate is a mystery at this point, though the .pro files online suggest 19200). They loopback just fine over the air.

2nd. The USB socket is only for battery charging, there is no FTDI like on other boards.