need a tutorial on industrial servos ... I think ....

I have never tried working with a servo before but I have read some and watched several videos.

I understand how small hobby servos work ... it makes complete sense for something only rotating 180 deg.

But I have a project where I need the servo to rotate several revolutions ... basically a follower system.

I would have a hand wheel that ... with an encoder .. that can for the sake of arguments rotate 3 or 6 revolutions (user selectable ).

I now need a servo that would rotate 3 turns.

So I have either a 1:1 or a 1:2 ratio.

What I don't understand ...on a hobby servo, you have at one end say 20% pulse width .. and at the other end say 80%.

If you rotate several revolutions, then how could this work?

Or would it work completely differently ... more like a step motor ... just move the servo so many pulses (reading an encoder) ????

Or maybe you literally build a servo using the Arduino as the controller. Feed the motor based on a separate feedback (encoder) that will only go around once (gear it 3:1 on the servo shaft) ????

I know it can be done ... have seen it done twice with industrial equipment.

Is there a good tutorial out there I can read or watch that might explain how to do this ?

I hope I explained what I want to do ...

I can think of two examples ...

1. on a milling machine .. you turn a small hand wheel and the table moves. The hand wheel is calibrated with the servo (and lead screw) so that one turn is equal to .100"