Need help controlling my CNC, hardware is ready

Hi there, I always put effort on research before asking, but I'm lost and the readings are taking me in diff directions that seem a dead end. I'm a computer software programmer, yes I built basic Arduino stuff before.

So, just built my CNC hardware. Arduino Uno + L293d shield, two stepper motors + 1 servo + 2 limit switches (for X & Y axis each one). It works, I can use the Arduino IDE and and code to make the motor turn and draw like a plotter: lines, boxes, rectangles and stairs/shapes. Only 2 limit switches? I thought just needed the inner/home position for 0,0, the incremental on code is easy for me to figure the outer limit, I can expand this but this is not the matter, just the context and description.

So the hardware is ready, long story short I have the "motors" on code as objects: motor1, motor2, servo. But just can't figure out how to send gcodes/shapes, etc to it. I thought there was some general sketches around, even so I'm think I can write a listener. Found stuff on grbl, LinuxCNC, etc but still confused. I thought I could manage an Arduino Sketch for moving the motors and then just having something sending signals (XY) etc.

Problem? just like many tutorials around, they describe the set up (hardware), then "use the code from X place and it's done" but there is no detail. I'm finding "upload firmware", etc but nothing else. I see abundance of tutorials lacking specifics in this area except for two, but they are not complete (one guy talks about drawing lines only, and the other states exactly what I'm describing but the thread was abandoned). Grbl wiki says is not compatible with H-bridges and regarding documentation it seems using the L293D is a dead end there.

Thanks in advance. Perhaps I'm seeing lots of trouble when this is actually easy.

You need a G code interpreter.

Boardburner2:
You need a G code interpreter.

Unless I got something wrong...