Need help on countdown timers using 2 bicolor dot matrix without shift register.

Hey guys, I'm new to arduino. Just recently I just received an assignment, as what the title said, it's an 8x8 Bi-Colored dot matrix, meaning 24-pins. Any form of help will be appreciated.

EDIT: I'm using Arduino UNO & ORM-1588ASRG Dot Matrix.

What exactly does “without shift register” mean?
Is this a common cathode bicolor matrix, or common anode bicolor matrix?

I mean without the use of shift registers.
It's a common anode matrix.

Crossroads,
Couldn't he modify this example ? (I don't see the 74HC595 library in the code and it says "direct drive ")
http://playground.arduino.cc/Main/DirectDriveLEDMatrix#.Uyu08PldW_g

Needs 24 IO pins - either 1284P, 2560, or some external buffers to alternate 8 pins between the cathodes.

Oh, right. (DUH !) I guess he needs and I/O expander.

Sorry, but i didn't understand a thing y'all are talking about... mind filling me in?

Also, is therr any tuts i can follow?

raschemmel:
Oh, right. (DUH !) I guess he needs and I/O expander.

Yes, but I/O expanders are normally I2C. Which is a serial bus. So would that break the "no shift registers" rule? We don't know. You could argue an I2C i/o expander is a form of shift register. Same for max7219.

How about a couple of 3 to 8 line decoders, plus a couple of ULN2803s, 1:16 multiplex ratio. Only 12 lines needed.

Or a couple of octal counters (4012?) plus the 2803s. Only 10 lines.

AmosL, sorry, once we have had a quick techy discussion, will be glad to explain in more detail.

Paul

It doesn’t need to be that complex - drive the anodes, and buffer 2 sets of cathode drivers - then multiplex like you would a normal 8x8 matrix - 1 anode high at a time, 1 cathode low at a time.

If ULN2803 was put after the 'F244, then whole columns could be turned on, for more efficient multiplexing - 1 of 16 columns, vs 1 of 128 LEDs.

CrossRoads:
It doesn't need to be that complex