need help with some simple coding

hi there!

I am new to the amazing arduino thingamajig, and i need some help.
I hooked up an LCD to my arduino uno, and i am trying to get this to stop after 'z' then clear up and start again from the beginning.
can't find the right command to do this.

#include <LiquidCrystal.h>
const int rs = 12, en = 11, d4 = 5, d5 = 4, d6 = 3, d7 = 2;
LiquidCrystal lcd(rs, en, d4, d5, d6, d7);

int thisChar = 'a';

void setup() {
  // set up the LCD's number of columns and rows:
  lcd.begin(16, 2);
  // turn on the cursor:
  lcd.cursor();
}

void loop() {
    lcd.write(thisChar);
  delay(1000);
  thisChar++;
  if (thisChar == 'p'){
   lcd.write(thisChar);
    delay(1000);
    int (thisChar = 'q');
    lcd.setCursor(0, 1);
   lcd.write(thisChar);
    delay(1000);
    thisChar++;
  }
  if (thisChar == 'z'){
    lcd.write(thisChar);
    delay(1000);
    lcd>home();
  }
}  ]

also i can probably simplify this whole code and make it much smaller, so any advice would be very helpful.

thanks a million
shmily

abcd_sketch.ino (620 Bytes)

Welcome to the Forum. Please read this post:

How to use this forum - please read.

Please post your code using code tags. The code tags make the code look

like this

when posting source code files. It makes it easier to read, and can be copied with a single mouse click. Also, if you don't do it, some of the character sequences in the code can be misinterpreted by the forum code as italics or funny emoticons.

Unless the sketch is too large, it's better if you post your code, rather than attach it. When it's attached, we have to download it, create a folder then open your code in our IDE. And afterwards, the folder remains unless we navigate to the "Temp" folder and manually remove it. It's much easier to just view the code in your post.

Also please explain what the code does and what you want it to do exactly.

int thisChar = 'a';

Nonsense. The type of a variable named thisChar should obviously be float.