NodeMcu ESP8266 Lua V3 rev1.0 - how to power Vin pin

Hi all,

I am a newbie, starting exploring Arduino projects.
I recently received NodeMcu ESP8266 Lua V3 rev1.0 and want to use it for simple beginners projects.
So I started looking into documentation and one of first steps was to clarify options how to power it up.
At this point I am looking to power board via Vin pin by applying 5V which should used on board voltage regulator to supply 3.3V logic for the board.

However, looking into information on internet I am a bit confused.

According to GitHub - nodemcu/nodemcu-devkit-v1.0 I found that 5V should be applied.
According to NodeMCU ESP8266 Pinout, Specifications, Features & Datasheet
specified voltage is 7-12V
and I think I also saw some sites where there is recommended voltage for Vin 6.5V - 10V.
In some forums people debating about applying voltages of 14V or so.
Anyway, a lot of opposite information and for a beginner and I am not sure what to follow.

1. I would appreciate if someone could help me which board documentation I should follow?

2. I try to find an answer how to power Vin by myself. I look at the board components and noticed that board have voltage regulator AMS1117. Than I look at the datasheet for this voltage regulator: AMS1117-3.3 datasheet
    Accordingly, dropout voltage at 800mA should be 1.3V.
    Which means that MIN voltage applied should be Vin_min = 1.3V + 3.3 = 4.6V
    So it should work for Vin = 5V.
    What about the voltages above 5V?

1 Like