Any difference powering the board through VIN vs 3V3?

I'm using an ESP8266 NodeMCU and I'm curious about power. I typically power the board with a 5V wall plug source through the 3V3 pin. This is because I've read that powering via the VIN pin and USB at the same time could fry my USB port, and I often have it plugged into the computer to update code. The board has voltage converters so I'm not worried about that, but I'm curious if there's any difference between powering through VIN vs 3V3?

The reason I ask is I'm trying to make a sound reactive project, but have a considerable amount of noise on the A0 analog reading. I know power is one source of noise, so I wanted to clarify this. Thanks!

You will have to find a schematic of the specific nodemcu. But it sounds extremely unhealthy to put 5V into the 3.3V pin.

I have no experience with ESP, so I do not know if an ESP12 is the same as an ESP8266. I found this schematic for the ESP12:

If you have 3.3v you should use the 3.3v input if you have 5-12v use the vIn , but if your voltage is above 5v don't use the usb at the same time. ESP12 has a regulator to provide 3.3v to the board from the 5vUSB or the vIn pin. Why would you want to connect power from USB and a wall socket at the same time ?

Deva_Rishi:
if you have 5-12v use the vIn...

NodeMCU boards are designed for 5volt USB supply.
A significantly higher voltage on the 5volt pin will eventually fry the tiny 3.3volt voltage regulator.

Powering the board with 5volt on the 3.3volt pin is a sure way of frying the ESP WiFi module.
You should power the module with a 5volt cellphone charger on the USB socket.
Or with/through a powebank, connected to the USB socket.
Leo..

nodeMUC power pins the vIn takes anything upto 20v wow that's more than i thought !

I think you (and Henry) are confused with absolute max ratings and normal operating conditions.
The NodeMCU uses AFAIK a 5-pin SPX3819 regulator. 20volt/800mA absolute max.