Pan & Tilt - Trouble moving from bread board to actual project.

I am new to electronics, and am outside of my realm of expertise. What I am trying to build is a Pan & Tilt for my web cams. I need them to be controlled from the back of my church. A distance of about 100 feet.

I built the bread board prototype for servo's on my arduino UNO and everything worked fine. But when I move them to the actual use I have some snags. I think I might have something wired incorrectly. I am using RJ45 connectors and cat 5e cables to go the distance. Next to the camera's I have added a 9v battery and used a 5v regulator to power the servos. I am powering the arduino end in the back of my church with an ac arduino adapter.

I have included a schematic but keep in mind I had to use photo shop to draw this and so it is not an official schematic design with the dot connectors and I used a W to indicate the 5v regulator. Also instead of the jump over indicator I just stopped where the wires crossed over top. But It is good enough for you to figure out how I wired my project.

I think the problem is in what I call the servo power box, but I am not certain.

The actual servo's worked for a little while but then quit and when I put them back on the breadboard they work again. But, I do not have the power-box and battery power in the breadboard seniero. I know I am close, but something is not right.

Any help in where I am going wrong from someone who knows electronics would be greatly appreciated.

9v battery and used a 5v regulator to power the servos

If the 9V battery is a rectangular "transistor" battery, it will not provide the current needed for servos. 6 X AA batteries (in series) will provide the 9V you want and the current required by the servos. If the batteries are only powering the servos, use 4 AA batteries direct to the servos. Powering the servos using a voltage regulator is not the ideal way to go. Connect the grounds.

Groundfungus, thank you for your response,