PID controlled ball balancing beam

First of all, thank you for spending some time helping me out.

I would like to make something akin to this.

I know I want to use Arduino to do this. I have some experience coding and plenty of teachers to go running to for help but I’d like to make sure I’m buying the right equipment.
All I believe I need (please correct me if I’m mistaken) is:

• Arduino
  • Servo motor
  • Some sort of motion sensor

If that is all that I would need, where can I buy it? Many thanks!

Arduino

Good idea.

Servo motor

To move what?

Some sort of motion sensor

To detect the motion of what?

If that is all that I would need, where can I buy it?

Lots of places sell Arduinos and servos and sensors. Whether they will ship to your country, or not, and whether you want to wait, or not, will have a HUGE impact on that answer.

PaulS:
Good idea.
To move what?
To detect the motion of what?
Lots of places sell Arduinos and servos and sensors. Whether they will ship to your country, or not, and whether you want to wait, or not, will have a HUGE impact on that answer.

I was thinking of putting the motor in the middle of a wooden beam. This would mean I just need one motor and I can tilt the beam to a specified angle with relative ease. I need something that is very precise. By adjusting the tilt angle I can vary the force acting on a single ball that is somewhere on the beam.

I was hoping to use the detector to be able to tell where the ball is every time I go through the PID loop.

I need something that is very precise.

That leaves out your typical low cost hobby servo. While they are relatively fast, they are not very accurate.

I was hoping to use the detector to be able to tell where the ball is every time I go through the PID loop.

How? A ping sensor could measure the distance from one end, but not very accurately OR very fast.

A typical motion sensor would be attached to the ball, so sense when it moved. That seems unlikely to be practical.