Play .WAV file with code

Hello! This question may sound simple but I am a complete newbie to Arduino but finding it very fun and pretty easy to get started with, so here is my question.

I am trying to build a project to use in another homemade project that when my sensors initiate, I would like my Arduino to play a short .WAV file to announce things have gone smoothly. Possibly announce the date and time using prerecorded months, days, etc. I have purchased a WTV020M1 chip and have an Arduino Uno. Is this possible to do with this hardware? Is it possible to have the files played off an audio chip with an SD card to store the .WAV files through code and not with a push of a button? I see a lot of examples for this chip with push buttons, but I would like my project to play different files depending on different conditions through coding.

Thanks for any direction anyone can give me! Arduino looks like a great addition to my home built projects, I just need some guidance and help!

This has been my major hang up on my project.

Is it possible to have the files played off an audio chip with an SD card to store the .WAV files through code

Yes, however I am finding little information about that chip. You don't need it however, you just need either and external D/A chip or at a reduced quality use the internal PWM generator and an external RC filter. Look up the examples AdaFruit has for its "wave shield"

Hello! Sorry I am pretty new using Arduino, but I am finding it fascinating! However, I am having trouble figuring out which hardware is best for my project. I hope that any of you can help and guide me in the right direction!