PMbus for PSU information - DPS1200FB

Hi.

I am relatively new to protocol topics. I like to build a control unit for PSUs with can switch it on and off. It works pretty well. But now I like to add information from PMbus supplied by the PSU. A port scanner shows me the device IDs so it seems to be connected correctly with SDA and SDC.

Now to my problem: I can find some notes that PMbus based an SMbus and I2C. But I cannot find any library to get it easy to work. Any post I could find is too complex for me from today and points out no easy solution. So that’s because I like to ask if there is a description out there how I can understand the issues it better how I can get the data from PMbus.

The PSU used is a DPS1200FB but I know Python Library only.

Cheers
Nils

Hi Nils,

the most detailed infos for this I found on github ( raplin / DPS-1200FB ). However, this describes details and shows python code samples.
The PSU does not make use of the PMBus and so my attempts to get something useful by referring to different descriptions of PMBus protocols failed until now. It is SMBus and the command structure is a bit tricky because it needs a checksum byte added.
I wonder, if you found something more useful meanwhile. Something which avoids to write a library.

If so, it would be great if you can share your findings. If not you may still be interested to find out more and we possibly can work together to build some easy to use Arduino code for reading infos from the PSU like output voltage / current /temperatures and failures.
I will uses this for a power supply with battery backup for two servers (12V) and two Disk racks (12V/5V). Actually it is already running (partly) but the final PSU should deliver all important data and also notify servers to shutdown if power outage is too long.

Hi,