Powering a stepper with A4988 on the go

Hey guys, n00b here (first ever hardware project, I'm a software engineer) :) I am currently in the middle of a time lapse slider project (yes, another one :)), and I'm puzzled about powering it on the go.

I have a Mega board, A4988 as a driver (the red clone) and a NEMA17 stepper (I have a feeling that it is a Wantai 42BYGH W811, but not sure how to check).

Currently (in a prototyping phase) I'm powering it using a 9V battery, but obviously it's not a good option (it's weak and very small capacity). I have two options in my mind: 1. Buy a mobile power bank with big capacity and higher voltage output (e.g. this: http://www.fasttech.com/products/0/10004461/1341206-qidian-1a-1-5a-2a-4a-6-18650-mobile-power-bank has big capacity and I could use 9V 1.5A output) 2. Buy a sealed lead acid battery (afaik, much less capacity)

I would be very happy if I could just use the first option because I could take it with me on the plane, which I doubt I could do with the second option.

Thanks!

Are you satisfied that you don't need to run the motor at 12v or 24v?

...R

Why not use the 18650 Li cells directly? Three should do the job. I use them in robots. Cheap rechargers are readily available. I do not see any advantage to putting a swithching regulator between the batteries and the motor.

Joe

Robin2: Are you satisfied that you don't need to run the motor at 12v or 24v?

Sorry, didn't quite get your comment, did you mean that I should run it at higher voltage than 9v?