Problems measuring shaft rotating speed with optical sensor

Hi Everyone,

I'm attempting to measure the rotating speed of a 1" diameter motor shaft. I only have access to the end of the shaft, so I am attempting to use this sensor, along with a small reflective strip on the end of the shaft to sense the rotating speed. The sensor data sheet says it can detect reflective objects almost half an inch away, but I haven't been having any luck with the sensor. At the moment it seems as though I've entirely fried the sensor actually. I'm relatively new to wiring things up myself, and I thinking it's very possible I hooked the diode up wrong at some point and burnt it out (Would the diode have burnt out this quickly? I definitely exceeded the reverse breakdown voltage, which is only 3 volts. In the future I will be more careful to step my voltage down as well...)

At this point, since it looks like I'll need a new sensor anyways, I though I'd as if anyone had any advice on a different method (hall effect sensor?) or any tips on how to manage to get something like this to work properly.

Thanks,

Graham

There are four different types of output available for that sensor, and depending on which type you have and how you have wired it, you may not detect a signal using an Arduino.

You also must have a current limiting resistor in series with the emitter LED (150 Ohm minimum) or you could burn out the Arduino output pin, the LED or both.

Which exact type of sensor do you have, (totem pole or open collector output) and how, exactly, have you wired it?

Please post a hand drawn diagram, showing all connections, with pin numbers labeled, and post your code, using code tags.

Hi JRemington,