Problems with Serial Communication on pin 0 and 1

Hi,

I'm new in arduino and experiment some problems since few hours. I look to different solution but no one help me.

The problem is that communication with serial works perfectly if i use serial monitor provided with arduino development tools. As far as i try with another program (like hyperterminal, small C# program) i get bytes but not the one expected.

Here is the code (just blinking one led and print OPEN to serial port:

/* 

const int ledPin =  13;      // the number of the LED pin

int ledState = LOW;             // ledState used to set the LED
long previousMillis = 0;        // will store last time LED was updated
long interval = 1000;           // interval at which to blink (milliseconds)

void setup() {
   pinMode(ledPin, OUTPUT);
  Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop()
{

if (millis() - previousMillis > interval) {

previousMillis = millis();   
    Serial.println("OPEN");

if (ledState == LOW)
      ledState = HIGH;
    else
      ledState = LOW;    
    digitalWrite(ledPin, ledState);
  }
}

What i get in decimal format in my C# program (88 85 13 21 107 0) First problem : i sent 4 characters, get 6 ??

I try different baudrate but never get the OPEN ??

Please help me ? (on the board i just connect pin 0,1 and ground to the corresponding pin on the serial port of my PC)

First problem : i sent 4 characters, get 6 ??

Serial.println("OPEN");

That's because you sent 6 - 'O', 'P', 'E', 'N', carriage return, and linefeed (the println function added the last two). If you don't want the carriage return and line feed, use print, not println.

(on the board i just connect pin 0,1 and ground to the corresponding pin on the serial port of my PC)

The Arduino sends serial data using 0 and 5V. The PC is expecting +12V and -12V. You need a TTL to Serial converter between the Arduino and the PC.

Damned, yes the carriage return and linefeed, completely forget this.

OK, so i need an convertor, i will look to this.