Problems working with a sparkfun 16x2 serial LCD

Hello community,

This is my first post and I am just getting into working with an arduino. I am having issues getting a spakfun serial 16x2 LCD (sparkfun part number LCD-09395) to work.

I am using an Arduino Uno Rev3 with a 16x2 serial LCD.
I am powering the arduino with my computer's USB port

I followed the "Quickstart" guide https://www.sparkfun.com/tutorials/246 from sparkfun for hooking the LCD up and looked at the SerLCD data sheet https://www.sparkfun.com/datasheets/LCD/SerLCD_V2_5.PDF though my LCD is differnt than the one pictured), but I am not having any success getting my LCD to work as I intend it to. I even tried using a second LCD (same model), but no luck.

With the first LCD, I was having issues with garbage characters being printed on the LCD along with the intended text.
While I was trying different snippets of code, along with the commands from the datasheet, the garbage characters were still there, but I managed to turn off the back light, and it will not turn back on.
Again I tried several different snippets of code available on the net, but no success. When I unplug the USB and plug it back in, the backlight flashes quickly and then stays off.

Next attempt on another LCD, no garbage characters (strangely), and I could get text to print out (sweet feeling better), but in trying to program in a carriage return using Serial.print('\n'); the LCD turned off and I can't get it to turn back on. Again I tried several snippets of code available on the net, but no success.

Another issue that I was having was when I used "upload" in Arduino 1.0.5, the LCD would just print out garbage, until I unplugged the usb and plugged it back in.

Is this the usual procedure?
How can I get the backlight back on?
Where do the garbage characters come from?
What code source would be the correct one for this LCD?