project :: led-table

Hi, this is my first project with arduino, a sofa table, boxed down to 8 rows and 4 columns. It has 32 x ShiftBrite modules, an Arduino Mega 1280 and MSGEQ7 chip.

First the plan:

Then we start building process:

Get the hardware together.

The table status now, just ordered the glass, and need to make the table feet.

Here you can see the equalizer effect in action: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hCAW4Txmfog

The javascript prototype I made before starting the project: http://forritun.org/led-table/prototype.html

The source files for the arduino: https://github.com/birkir/led-table/blob/master/led-table.cpp

Any comments or thoughts I may have done better ?

Thanks.

Looks awesome! Let me know if you have any problems achieving a particular effect.

Well done, it looks a cracker.

Thanks guys.

Mace, I'm having problem with some ShiftBrite modules actually.

If whole led array is on (single color or sometimes blending two colors), I get pretty strange behaviour on the last two leds, they flicker.

Also when I set all leds to full power RGB=1023, the led array flickers and display purple or something colors.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sFGDOYG1wLI

Also the first LED has lost its blue color somehow :(

Solid: do you know if the blue LED ever worked on the first channel? Maybe there is a code issue? If it's broken we will definitely replace it for you.