Project similar to delta 3d printer - driving stepper motor question

Hi everyone,

I am a programmer who is pretty new to electronics and arduino. I’m interested in jumping into the deep end on this. Also new to the forums - hi!

I wanted to ask some questions which I hope aren’t too generic, trying to get an overview of what I need to buy. I am relatively confident that once I own the parts I will be able to put them together - possibly with some help from the community :slight_smile: .

What I am trying to build is effectively a delta robot based on the common delta 3D printer designs - except this is not going to be a 3D printer, I only need the frame and the motors - none of the other electronics or printing bits.

I would like to be able to move the ‘hand’ in real time - for example by inputting an x, y and z coordinate via serial from an external device - or via a joystick, something to that affect.

I have seen a guide like THIS which shows how I can create a reasonably cheap prototype frame, but like most 3D printers this uses the RAMPS 1.4 shield designed for 3D printers.

So my question really is - what is the best way for me to drive 3 X low voltage, high torque stepper motors using an arduino to achieve what I have mentioned above?

Can I buy a RAMPS shield and just use it as a motor shield, ignoring the other electronics? Will RAMPS be easy for me to interface with - as I will not just be installing 3D printer software. Or is there another stepper motor shield I should be considering instead which would achieve what I am aiming for?

I saw the adafruit motor shield available, but it doesn’t look like it will be able to drive the low voltage motors used in the 3D printing guides I have seen.

Sorry if this has been asked before in another round about way. I hope I can get some answers.

Thanks

Can I buy a RAMPS shield and just use it as a motor shield, ignoring the other electronics?

Yes.

Will RAMPS be easy for me to interface with