Project with multiple serial ports and USB connection possible?

Hi all,

I am a newbie in Arduino and looking for some advise. I only have some experience with electronics and VB programming so there is going to be a lot of learning for me to do. :wink:

The project device will have the following requirements.

1. Two RS-232 ports.
  2. Use of SD shield for data logging.
  3. Display data on a 1602 LCD shield.
  4. Enter or edit data with a external keyboard, preferably using USB interface.
  5. Enter data with a barcode scanner, preferably using USB interface.
  6. Two to three buttons to flush the buffer of SD card writing, entering setup mode.

Is it even possible for the Arduino UNO connecting with so many external components? ::slight_smile:

Thanks for all the help in advance.
Alex

You need a mini computer for that.

When a USB keyboard or USB barcode reader is connected to a computer, the computer loads or installs the driver, and that makes it work.
The Arduino can not load a driver.

There are a few options, there is a USB Host shield and the Arduino Due has a USB Host connector. The Arduino Yun is an Arduino with a wifi/linux module that runs OpenWRT. Perhaps OpenWRT can use a keyboard, I have never tried that.

Why do you need two RS-232 ports ?

What about using a Raspberry Pi ? Or an RPi plus an Arduino?

...R

alexlyf:

1. Two RS-232 ports.
  2. Enter or edit data with a external keyboard, preferably using USB interface.
  3. Enter data with a barcode scanner, preferably using USB interface.

Hi,

It is probably easier to use a PS2-barcode scanner, you can read'm quite easily as PS2Keyboard.

You could use arduino's standard USB-connection to enter data with PC/external keyboard, but a Mega2560 is probably a better choice if you need 2 extra serial ports as well.

Thank you so much for the advise, guys!

Peter_n: RS-232 is for one to one communication and I need to connect with two different devices.