PWM Filter

Hello guys I am trying to use an Arduino Uno to PWM and Analogue output in the range on 0-12 VDC.

I have designed a circuit which I think may work. Just would like some feedback ideas on if I am on the right path.

Sorry not remotely correct. You will never get more than 5V out of that circuit.
You need the emitter to ground and the filter in the collector and if you connect A0 to the output presumably for feedback you will blow the Arduino with voltages over 5V.

thanks for the response. i am quite new to using transistors, i have re-wrote based on comments but i am unsure where to put the RC filter.

Better.
You don't need that diode across the transistor. Put the filter between the transistor's collector and the analogue output.
What sort of load will this be driving, that determins the component values you need to use

Great. I got it working :slight_smile: thanks for your help. I want it do drive an actuator that accepts a 0-10V input for position.

If I can see that this "inverts" the PWM which makes sense. Is there a way to have the analog write at 0 with the other side of transistor also off?

The 1k resistor should go between Arduino pin and base. Not to ground.
Connecting the Arduino directly to the base could destroy the output pin.

Maybe better to integrate the PWM signal first, and then amplify it to the desired voltage with an opamp.
Download LTspiceIV, and load the attachment. Click on the running man.
Use the probe to see the opamp’s output, or any other point.
Experiment with values.
Leo…

integrator.zip (620 Bytes)

I want it do drive an actuator that accepts a 0-10V input for position.

It is not the voltage that is important but the current.

Is there a way to have the analog write at 0 with the other side of transistor also off?

Only by using another transistor. However if you want the values 0 to 255 to represent off to full on then simply have the value in a variable ( which you will have any way ) and use analogWrite( 255 - v )