PWM From 12Vac Input

I have never used an Arduino board before. I need to create a phone charger via 120Vac input, Full Bridge Rectifier, and Buck-Boost Converter. Since I am stepping down the 120Vac to 12Vac, I then need to regulate the AC signal and set a duty-cycle before my buck-boost converter. Can I use an Arduino board to take in 12Vac and output an AC signal with a specific duty-cycle (say 40%)? Also, can the Arduino board even output more than 5Vac? My professor recommended an Arduino board for this.

You need to use a 120 to 12 volt transformer first. Then a diode bridge and caps can be used.¨

True. Max 5 vot signals from Arduinos. Use a transistor stage to control larger outputs.

1. Be careful with 120v
  2. But what is your assigned task ? To design and build a buck converter for a specific input and output voltage (and max. current) ?

Why? Why do you need to regulate the AC signal? Why do you need to set a duty cycle before your buck-boost converter?

If you need to build a phone charger, you don't need an Arduino anywhere near it. The buck/boost converter itself will do the regulating. Rectify and smooth your 12VAC, then feed that to the converter. It will then generate the required output voltage (I assume 5V DC in your case).

Hi, @anon84900529
Welcome to the forum.

As this appears to be an assignment, can you please post the assignment sheet you have been given so we can understand what your professor requires.

You do not set the duty cycle of the 12Vac , you have to convert it to smoothed DC before PWM application.

Thanks.. Tom... :smiley: :+1: :coffee: :australia: