Random specific colors for NeoPixel

Hello everyone! I apologize, I am a noob when it comes to programming Neopixels. I don't know where I should start, I am looking to try to:

1. Have LEDs 1-5 be their own color and 6-10 be their own color. So half is one color, half is another, or could be both sets, at random

2. Pulse or breathing effect in the lights

3. I want to try and have the pro trinket choose from 5 different colors for the LED sets to change to after a timer or delay

I am still new to this so any advice would be greatly appreciated! Thanks

Put the colour codes that you want in an array and use the random() function to select the index to the array

Do you have a Arduino board ? The Pro Trinket has no advantages, only disadvantages.

Thanks! I was trying to wrap my head around doing that, I was thinking....and correct me if this won't work, I was going to use int to make 5 integers for each color and then try and use random to switch between each defined int. The other part is trying to make 1-5 a random color and 6-10 a different color.

I do not have an arduino board, I was using a tutorial online that used a pro trinket for cosplay props, so I bought that for the small size so I can hide it inside somewhere.

So I have this so far, but don't know where to continue from here. Don't know how/where to add the random function into this void loop.

void loop() {

colorWipe(strip.Color(255, 0, 0), 50); // Red
delay(5000);
colorWipe(strip.Color(0, 255, 0), 50); // Green
delay(5000);
colorWipe(strip.Color(0, 0, 255), 50); // Blue
delay(5000);
colorWipe(strip.Color(255, 255, 0), 50); // yellow
delay(5000);
colorWipe(strip.Color(128, 0, 128), 50); //purple
delay(5000);

}

@cyborgkangaroo, your topic has been moved to a more suitable location. Introductory Tutorials is not for questions but for tutorials that e.g. you write. Feel free to write one once you have mastered your problem :wink: