read voltage of multiple analog in pins

Hi, I am new to Arduino and I build a device which measures whether or not a nail (in total 3 nails, coupled to a red, blue or green wire) is touched by a pin(coupled to a yellow wire), and which of the three nails is touched (See the Circuit_1 attachment for drawing of the situation). The yellow wire is plugged into the 5V pin of the Arduino and the Arduino’s power comes from my computer (USB coupled). When the yellow pin touches one of the nails, a current will flow. Because all of the little circuits are also attached to an analog pin (Blue=A0, red=A2, green=A4) the voltage can be read and will be plotted in MATLAB (see MATLAB_1 attachment for plot).

It works, but my question is why it is needed to implement a resistor (1k Ohm is used) is every circuit. When I do not implement the resistor and put the ground wire directly in the row where also the analog wire and the sensor (red,blue or green) wires are plugged on to (see Circuit_2 attachement), I will get a really weird jumpy and incorrect voltage measurements when one of the nails is touched. Has this to do with floating pins?

I know that there are more simple constructions to do the measurements, but I just want to know why the one thing works and the other one not.

the MATLAB plot

First of all , while it is technically correct that when the pin touches the nail " a current will flow",
it is not correct to say that because the input impedance of an analog input is in the order of 100Mohms
and the “current” (as you say) that “flows” is in the order of 120 nA. (120E-9 Amps).
We don’t say "current flows in a analog input " because it’ just sounds stupid or ignorant to say that when
the amount of the current approaches zero.
(no offense)
It’s an analog input. The function of an analog input is NOT to measure CURRENT , but to measure VOLTAGE, so we only talk about VOLTAGE when discussing analog inputs. Everyone knows the current is