RGB Led strips - controlling color and brightness independently

Hello everybody!

for a project I'm working on I want to control individually the brightness 12 RGB LED strips, for example turning on one at a time in a given order. When the LEDs are not on they should be actually half brightness, so I think I have to exclude the use of relays and go with transistors.

I also need to control their color, but that needs to be the same for all of them, so it seems more efficent/elegant/clean to me to use 3 transistors/pins on the arduino for the RGB values and 12 for the brightness(es), rather than using 12 + 3 = 36 transistors.

Is it possible to control with just 3 transistors on the RGB lines of the LEDS and then have another transistor on each + line of the LEDS, or that would create problems?

Of course picking transistors with the appropriate power rating.

If it's not clear I'll try to make a schematic.

I have some experience about Arduino programming, but when it comes to electronics I'm always afraid to make a giant mess :roll_eyes:

Thank you everyone

andreaefferao:
Hello everybody!

for a project I'm working on I want to control individually the brightness 12 RGB LED strips, for example turning on one at a time in a given order. When the LEDs are not on they should be actually half brightness, so I think I have to exclude the use of relays and go with transistors.

I also need to control their color, but that needs to be the same for all of them, so it seems more efficent/elegant/clean to me to use 3 transistors/pins on the arduino for the RGB values and 12 for the brightness(es), rather than using 12 + 3 = 36 transistors.

Is it possible to control with just 3 transistors on the RGB lines of the LEDS and then have another transistor on each + line of the LEDS, or that would create problems?

Of course picking transistors with the appropriate power rating.