Rotary encoder and interrupts

I'm starting to learn and experiment with rotary encoders. I'm following some of the examples on the rotary encoders page (http://arduino.cc/playground/Main/RotaryEncoders). I'm able to get the first example to work, however I'm not able to get any of the examples which use interrupts to work. The settings for the pins in my code are correct, however, when I turn my encoder, the interrupts never get called.

My processor is an Arduino Duemilanove. I have everything setup correctly (I think). I'm able to get serial output from the other sketches I've made, and like I said, the first non-interrupt example on the rotary encoder example page works fine.

Is there a step I'm missing? Is there something 'extra' I have to do in order to get interrupts to work? I'm new to interrupts so I'm not sure how to troubleshoot this.

Thanks,

Jeff

PS. If this message belongs in a different forum, please let me know.

Well first question I would ask is what two arduino pins numbers are you wiring your encoder channels to. And while I know you said you are running the example sketches, you really should post a copy of the exact sketch you are running that doesn't work correctly. Copy it from your IDE sketch editor and past it here in a code (#) window.

Lefty

The pins are 11 and 12.

As far as the code goes, here is the code which works (but doesn't use interrupts):

const int encoder0PinA = 11; const int encoder0PinB = 12; int encoder0Pos = 0;

int encoder0PinALast = LOW; int encoder0PinBLast = LOW;

void setup() { pinMode(encoder0PinA, INPUT); pinMode(encoder0PinB, INPUT); Serial.begin(9600); }

void loop() { int encoder0PinANew = digitalRead(encoder0PinA); int encoder0PinBNew = digitalRead(encoder0PinB);;

if(encoder0PinANew == encoder0PinALast && encoder0PinBNew == encoder0PinBLast) { //Serial.println(" no change"); return; }