SAMD21 (arduino mkr zero) with TFT 3.5 ili9486

I have a TFT screen for raspberry pi that I want to connect to my arduino mkr zero (SAMD21). The screen is a geekcreit 3.5 inch and it should use ili9486 driver and its bought from banggood.

I have tried to get it to work with the library TFT_eSPI from Bodmer but not succeeded. Not sure if its my lack of skill or simply that its not supported since the library doesnt explicitly say it supports SAMD21. If it should work, Ill be happy to share more information about how i have tested it.

I have also tried with waveshare ILI9486 library for arduino but that seems to be amied towards proper arduino shields.

Have anyone got it to work with this screen and arduino?

@emilator,

This was one of my early TFT displays. Therefore I have several libraries for it. But I am not a TFT expert.

ILI9486_SPI, ZxTFT, GFX_TFT, GxTFT

Not tested with MKR Zero or MKR1000. But should work if you add a constructor for MKR Zero to an example.

Jean-Marc

Wow!!! Thank you so much ZinggJM!
It works with your ILI9486_SPI library. Have you got the touch functionality to work? The TFT_eSPI library should have it but that one still dont work for me.

For others looking at this thread i followed the pin definition of the TFT screen in bodmer library.
The mosi and sck are already labled on the mkr zero and the SC, rst, DC I assume you can place more or less where you want. I placed mine at 5, 4 and 3. So my constructor looked like this
ILI9486_SPI tft(/CS=10/ 5, /DC=/ 3, /RST=/ 4);
And the graphictest worked directly :slight_smile: beautiful!

1 Like

@emilator,

thank you for the feedback!

Have you got the touch functionality to work?

I didn't try yet. So far I used my TFT displays for output only. I would need to wire a proto board for touch first.

Searching for XPT2046 in the Library Manager found 5 libraries. I have no idea which one is best.