Satellite tracking Project

Satellite Tracker Project

I am looking for help with this project.
I am a virgin to the code and controller world.
Would like to create a satellite tracking antenna system.
Would love any help with this . I am a machinist fabricator and willing
to learn new stuff. I know there is software open source to track satellites that can be accessed on the interweb.
Parts so far:

Uno R3

Arduino motor shield

2 L298N motor controllers

2 12v DC gear motors ( equipped with P3 America

ERCK0505 360 magnetic single turn Hall effect angle sensor)

2 HD4478 IICIC1602 LCD displays with IIC I2C TWI SPI serial interface

Possibly connect and control with a tablet

I have fabricated the antenna and the mechanical portion of the rotator.

Do You have any technical information telling how the Arduino will get information about the satellite?
Google comes up empty on ERCK0505.

Do you dont know if the 'system' you have built is compatible with amateur radio satellite tracking systems ?

Or are you desigining a system from scratch ?

Yes. the antenna is for 70cm band resonant at 450mhz.
i am first configuring for a manual Azimuth and elevation thru joystick and then hope to connect and control through uno r3 and tracking software. I have designed all so far from scratch.
Thanks for your interest.

Analog Kit Encoder | Hall Effect | Frictionless Operation (p3america.com)

CelesTrak: Satellite Tracking Software Index

Satpack: Arduino satellite tracking and doppler tuning - Make: (makezine.com)

this seems to be popular!

You look like being well equipped with knowledge about the stuff needed.
Fascinating project. Good luck!

just brand new to the Controller and code thing so looking for some guidance.

Yes, but You know the peripheral stuff. That's not always the case.

alot of research

1 Like

I can guess. Well done!