Serial communication Arduino Uno ESP8862-01

Hello,

I'm trying to connect an ESP8862-01 with a Arduino Uno R3 using Serial Communication. I just want to send a single String from the ESP to the Arduino, and let the Arduino print this message into the serial Monitor.

As a beginner, I probably have done something silly/stupid, but I just can't get it where I got it wrong. I found many topics and articles/videos everywhere but nothing worked for me so far...So I'm eventually asking help here.

I attached a screenshot of the schema I made.

I'm using a Bi-directional level converter to level down 5V (from Arduino) to 3.3V as I'm aware the ESP8862-01 only takes 3.3V.

• I linked ESP-RX to PIN 2 of the Arduino
  • I linked ESP-TX to PIN 3 of the Arduino
  • ESP-CH and VCC are linked to 3.3 V
  • ESP-GND to Arduino GND

The ESP code I uploaded in the ESP is

#include <Arduino.h>

void setup()
{
  Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop()
{
  Serial.write("A");
}

The code I uploaded in the Arduino is:

#include <SoftwareSerial.h>

SoftwareSerial esp(2,3);

void setup() {
  Serial.begin(9600);
  esp.begin(9600);
  Serial.println("<Arduino is ready>");
}

void loop() {
    while(esp.available()) {
      Serial.write(esp.read());
    }
}

When I plug the Arduino to USB and open the Serial Monitor the only result I can see is

<Arduino is ready>

The message from ESP are not displayed as I would expect it...

Is anybody would have any idea of what I'm doing wrong?

I'm actually not even sure the problem comes from the code, or from the electronic part...Or both...

Thank you very much,

Adrien