Servo vs DC motors for a robot?

So I'm looking into making a robot with arduino and I started to look around at other people's designs and I ran into something. I've noticed that for the motors connected to the wheels, people usually use DC motors or modified servos. I was just wondering what the differences are between using one or the other type of motor to control the movement of the robot. What are the advantages/disadvantages of using one or the other?
Thanks.

I am not an expert, but here are my thoughts on it:
Servos are slow, but precise. You send a command to the servo that will command the servo to rotate at a specific rotational speed. With Arduino, you'd usually use the Arduino Servo library (Servo - Arduino Reference) and a constant rotation servo.
Servo's also tend to require less power to run. This is only a general rule, and there are certainly exceptions.

DC motors can give you considerably more power and/or speed, but can be tricky to control as accurately. If you don't have an encoder attached to each DC motor, it'll be very difficult to make each wheel spin the same speed.
If you do have encoders, you'll wind up needing to code some type of constant comparison between the two encoder speeds and adjust the individual motor voltages to make the speeds match. Every time the floor changes grade, or a tire hits a bump, or the floor changes texture, the required voltage to make that DC motor spin the same fast changes.

I believe that some of the DC Motor Control Boards have this built in. It may be worth paying extra to have this feature.

All of the experts around here, feel free to correct/add to this... Just my 2 cents.

Wyldhunt: Thanks! This is exactly the type of answer I was hoping for.