Servos

Hi, i just bought a Adafruit Motor/Stepper/Servo Shield for Arduino v2 Kit - v2.3. My plan was to use it to control two servo motors but i dont know how to. I own a motor shield rev 3 too and was wondering wich one I should use. I want to be able to control them using 2 potentiometer. I´ve searched for tutorials but im a beginner like I´m really new to arduino and have only done a bit of HTML programming before so just wanted to know if anyone could help me or knew any good tutorials for this!

you don't really need any shield to run servos from an Arduino. You do need an external power source as the 5V regulator on most (all?) Arduinos will not provide enough current. A 4 AA battery pack works well for servo power. Connect the servo + to battery +, servo ground (-) to battery ground (-) and to Arduino ground and the servo control pin to any Arduino digital pin. The Servo library takes care of generating the servo pulses.

As groundFungus says you don't need any shields. If you look in the IDE examples you'll see that the Knob sketch shows you exactly how to control one servo from a potentiometer.

Extending that to two of each is not exactly difficult so just have a go. If you have problems post what you've tried here and we'll help you sort it out.

Steve

i followed the instructions and powered the servo with batteries ( i had only 3AA) but it didnt move at all! do you think it is the batteries or something else?

Which servos do you have?
Do you have a digital multi meter (DMM)?
What voltage do you get out of your batteries?
3AA's likely provide 4.5v best case, less depending on their state of charge and chemistry.

Can you post a wiring diagram? Pencil, paper and a camera are good enough if you include proper detail like pin numbers.

I took a quick look at This article on that board and it says that is simply passes through pins 9 and 10 from the UNO to your servos.

In addition to the wiring diagram, can you post your code (use code tags)