Simple LCD Program

I have an LCD screen and a digital push button. I want to print out a number to the LCD screen and with one bush button increment the variable printed on the LCD.

I am relatively new to arduino coding.

Any advice or help?

Hi and welcome.

Please read this (click !) if you haven’t done that yet.

Next, do you have an idea about how many “LCD screens” there are ?
To get help, try to give as much information as possible.
Like brand and type of your LCD screen, or a link to the product.

Also, have a look at the examples.
You can find them in the IDE File menu.
Do some of the examples.
You’ll learn how to use a pushbutton.

Hi,

In your IDE, there are examples “lcd hello world” “debounce”

open the lcd hello world example, and solder a header to your lcd display

i am using a 16x2 lcd display

#include <LiquidCrystal.h>

LiquidCrystal lcd(12, 11, 7, 6, 5, 3); // open your hello world example you will see all connections
                                      // I would suggest you solder a header to your lcd display

const byte buttonPin = 2;    // const = constant     it means your buttonpin is FIXED 
                             // for pins you just use byte  no need to use int 
                             // it is a waste of memory if you use int(integer) for your pins
int counter = 0;             // set your counter to zero to begin with

byte buttonState;             // the current reading from the input pin
byte lastButtonState = HIGH;   // the previous reading from the input pin

// the following variables are unsigned long ( no negative numbers. long is to hold a very big number) because the time, measured in miliseconds,
// will quickly become a bigger number than can be stored in an int.
unsigned long lastDebounceTime = 0;  // the last time the output pin was toggled
unsigned long debounceDelay = 50;    // the debounce time; increase if the output flickers

void setup() {