Simple Lunar cLOCK

Hi Folks,

First may I say I am a relative a beginner at programming so excuse any dumb questions.
My partner has asked me to make her a Lunar clock.

Ok I thought,

Actions.
• Run a clock via I2C DS3231.
• Display clock time on I2C PCF8574/16X2 LCD.
• Set clock by button press.
• Use calendar dates to interpret Moon phase calculation.
with the algorithm adapted from Stephen R. Schmitt's by Tim Farley.
• Turn a specific row of LED's on via a TLC5940-nt to show incremental moon phases, max 60ma per row, 6 rows.]

I can run the LCD and DS3231 ok, but I would really appreciate any advice and tips on how to set up the algorithms and I presume an 'if' statement to trigger the relevant LED's

Regards
Mark

A relative simple approach is to Google "arduino lunar clock", which will point you to a number of examples.

MarkS1964:
• Display clock time on I2C PCF8574/16X2 LCD.
• Turn a specific row of LED's on via a TLC5940-nt to show incremental moon phases, max 60ma per row, 6 rows.]

What you propose seems to leave Arduino grossly under-employed. The only moon phase clock I have seen worthy of the name is that by Galilea. It has been around for years. Its simple enough, and its own advantage is that they bit the bullet and it is truly three dimensional. This should be easily copied with Arduino and a stepper motor, but I submit something just as good but solid state can be done with Arduino by drawing the phases on an LCD. I bet you can do this with a proper photograph of the moon as background. This would be updatable every hour, instead of that clunky LED setup, using a proper lunar clock running off the DS3231 square wave output. I'm sure you will find the mathematics you need in Meeus, Duffet-Smith et al. You can probably then determine moonrise and set, observed orientation, and God knows what all else - including eclipses. This should seriously impress your partner.

Lunar phase function for Arduino
Moon rise and set

jremington: