Slider & turn table: indication of motors

Hello all,

I am new to working with small-scale motors in general, and I really needed the indication of the right motors to buy in order to do the following simple tasks.

I am working on a project where I will need:

• A motor capable of moving a Sharp IR sensor vertically, more or less like a slider. I need something that can move very smoothly, in a movement that goes up and down modulated by a sine equation, simulating a "wave" moving only up and down. I have tested a couple of slider potentiometers and they did not fit very well, due to the low sensibility and power of the motors.

• A second motor that turns a circular table of 30cm diameter continuously, slowly and very smoothly, similar to a turn table but slower. Such table will hold in the end a couple of objects that will altogether weight from 0.5 to 1kg. Thus it cannot be a very low torque motor to do the task.

Both motors will have their acceleration changed in realtime by other components.

I am thinking that I can solve both problems with the right DC motors, but it would really be great to have an idea of the right ones for each task, since both must be able to turn very slowly & w/ the right torque.

Thanks a lot! : )

For the first motor, it might be best to use a stepper motor driving a threaded rod (ACME thread would be best and cheapest for your app - you might try regular threaded rod, but depending on what kind of smoothness and accuracy you need, it may be more trouble than it is worth). The rod would have a follower nut, on which the platform the IR sensor would be attached. Note that you'll likely want to incorporate some end-of-travel sensor switches or such when using a stepper.