Solar Power Monitor

Hey everyone!

I have a project that I'm interested in taking on that is essentially monitoring the output of a solar panel over time. I'm fairly new to Arduino and electronics in general so I apologize if it's painfully obvious what the solution is.

I want to mount a solar panel on the roof of my shed and monitor the maximum possible power it generates over time. I'm going to be tracking a bunch of data (light intensity, temperature, humidity, time of day, etc) and I want to plot all the data. I have a decent grasp of the components and sensors needed, my only question is how do I actually monitor the possible max power continuously?

I understand that for the power to flow, and for me to monitor that flow of power, I'll need a load, but how do I have a load that adjusts depending on the output of the solar panel?

I'm not trying to power anything specific with this panel, just trying to figure out how much power a square foot could generate, then I could scale that up to my whole roof and have a decent idea of how much power I could potentially generate for my roof.

For a complete picture of what I'm doing, I'll have an x by y sized solar panel on the roof, hooked up to some sort of sensor that can continually monitor voltage and current, which is being stored on an SD card. I will also have the other sensors hooked up, but i'm confident that I know how those all work!

Thank you for your help!

If you want to measure the maximum power thats available , you will need a MPPT charge controller of some sort.
You can either buy one or build one , but if you arnt familiar with the electronics involved then buying one is the easiest.
The power thats being generated can either be dumped into a resistor which will get hot , or used to charge a battery.
Rather then reinvent the wheel, its a lot easier to simply go here https://pvwatts.nrel.gov/ and type in your latitude, and it will give you the answer you are seeking.