Soldering components to Arduino Pro Mini in a more compact manner

I am new to soldering. Last week, I finally soldered female headers onto my Arduino Pro Mini and then I soldered jumper wires onto the male headers of my other components so that I can connect them to my Arduino. I have a LiPro battery, a bluetooth module, and an accelerometer connected to it, with a USB charger connected to the LiPro battery. I got my code uploaded and everything is working fine.

The footprint of my components by themselves is fine. However, with the soldered jumper wires connected to everything and protruding out of the back, my project is simply too big for my intended use. Another problem is that with the long jumper wires from my accelerometer, the accelerometer might sway simply from that weak connection and give me incorrect data. I have attached some pictures.

Like I said, I'm very new to soldering so I was hoping for some advice on how to connect everything and drastically reduce the size of everything.

My idea was to desolder everything, including the headers from all my components. Then, for each component, I'd directly wire a short strand of soldering wire from the hole on the Arduino Mini to the corresponding hole on the other component. I'd very rapidly touch the soldering iron to the solder wire at each hole and my hope is that it would melt just enough so that the part that is already in the hole would melt and expand to fill the hole, and then quickly solidify and anchor everything in place.

Is this a feasible strategy? Can soldering wire be used like this to make connections, only by itself and without the use of any other headers or jumper wires?

If there is an easier or more elegant strategy that will make my project more compact and aesthetic, please let me know.

No - solder is for a mechanical connection only and isn't meant to carry current or signals; besides, I doubt your plan would work well.