[Solved] 4 Digit 7 Segment Display Question

Hello! I'm pretty new to Arduino, but I have gone through helpful tutorials, and I think I have a grasp on beginner concepts, but I have a project idea that I'm struggling with.
The end goal is to connect an ultrasonic sensor to a 4 digit 7 segment display to display distance. Now, I've done some research on seven segment displays, but I still have some questions.

Here's my hardware:
5641AS Common Cathode 4 Digit 7 Segment Display
HC-SR04 Ultrasonic Sensor.

Here's some code that I got when I went to a tutorial video that I plan to use;

// 5461AS 
int time = 5;

int pinA = 9;
int pinB = 8;
int pinC = 7;
int pinD = 6;
int pinE = 5;
int pinF = 4;
int pinG = 3;
int pinDP = 2;

int DIG1 = 13;
int DIG2 = 12;
int DIG3 = 11;
int DIG4 = 10;

void choose_digit(char num) {
switch(num) { default: // 0
default value digitalWrite(pinA, HIGH);
digitalWrite(pinB, HIGH);
digitalWrite(pinC, HIGH); 
digitalWrite(pinD, HIGH); 
digitalWrite(pinE, HIGH); 
digitalWrite(pinF, HIGH); 
digitalWrite(pinG, LOW);
digitalWrite(pinDP,LOW);
break; 
case 1:
digitalWrite(pinA, LOW); 
digitalWrite(pinD, LOW);
digitalWrite(pinE, LOW);
digitalWrite(pinF, LOW);
digitalWrite(pinG, LOW);
digitalWrite(pinDP,LOW);
break; 
case 2:
digitalWrite(pinA, HIGH);
digitalWrite(pinC, LOW); 
digitalWrite(pinF, LOW);
digitalWrite(pinG, HIGH);
digitalWrite(pinDP, LOW);
break; 
case 3:
digitalWrite(pinE, LOW); 
digitalWrite(pinF, LOW); 
break;
case 4:
digitalWrite(pinA, LOW);
digitalWrite(pinD, LOW); 
digitalWrite(pinE, LOW); 
break; 
case 5:
digitalWrite(pinB, LOW);
digitalWrite(pinE, LOW);
break; 
case 6:
digitalWrite(pinB, LOW); 
break; 
case 7: 
digitalWrite(pinD, LOW);
digitalWrite(pinE, LOW); 
digitalWrite(pinF, LOW);
digitalWrite(pinG, LOW);
break; 
case 8: 
break;
case 9: 
digitalWrite(pinE, LOW); 
break;
}

}

void pick_digit(int digit) {
digitalWrite(DIG1, HIGH);
digitalWrite(DIG2, HIGH);
digitalWrite(DIG3, HIGH);
digitalWrite(DIG4, HIGH);
switch(digit) {