Submarine telemetry

(I am new to Arduino but have a background in microelectronics and communications.)

I have a R/C submarine that I am upgrading to high resolution video (digital) via USB.

I would like to add a magnetic compass and a method for displaying depth. Preferably, I would like to send this information on the same USB data stream where the compass heading and the pressure would be displayed on a LCD display (Sub pressure-surface pressure=depth)

The attached sketch indicates what I THINK need for hardware - specific device recommendations appreciated!

I am not sure how to implement 2 hosts and 2 slaves on the same USB link but I am working on that! If any body has done it, suggestions are welcome!

If I am going totally in the wrong direction, I appreciate those suggestions as well.

USB has a range of just 1.5 meters!

Mark

USB can go to 6 metres without amplifiers and you can daisy-chain amplifiers (actually re-broadcasting hubs) for longer.

I would put a regular USB hub inside the ROV. Then you can easily have 2 slaves just as if they were both plugged into different USB ports on your PC. Two programs on the PC can work with the two slaves.

What, no gyro to call out pitch and roll?

Radio basically doesn't work underwater, especially with frequencies as high as 2.4 Ghz.
Will the antenna be on the surface?

jremington:
Radio basically doesn't work underwater, especially with frequencies as high as 2.4 Ghz.
Will the antenna be on the surface?

2 things--radio does work underwater, but the power required to make it go any distance is prohibitive.

Second, those are RC subs, and they don't have trailing antennas. I watched a video of some in a big pool, and they were going nuts, diving down to a good 12ft and acting more like penguins in the water than subs. I'm glad my Captain was a little more reserved with the acrobatics.