Submergible/Floating tanks controlled by Arduino.

Hello Community, I was introduced to Arduino by a friend, that works with electronics. I would like to let you know that my formation is in Marine Biology and I am not familiar with programs language. I have some knowledge in computer, but most of my computer problems I solved them by googling and try to understand how others had solve similar problems.

I was introduce to Arduino because I want to automatized a system that I build, but at the moment it requires a lot of valves and hoses. My friend told me that I can reduce a lot of work if I manage to automatize it, or at least bring the control to the computer. By the search that I have done in google and in this forum I think it will be possible to build the automatize version.

I will describe the system and how it works.

• Mainly is a set of tanks that goes up and down in the sea water. They are at bottom of the sea and when I need it I bring them up to the surface, when I finish the work, I send them back to the sea bottom.
  • Each tank (HDPE pipe) has three hoses that are linked to the surface to a control valve panel. All the valves (gate and ball valves) are at surface. Two hoses are linked to the water system and the third hose is linked to the air system.
  • When I want to bring the tanks up, I connect all the hoses to my valve panel in my boat. The water valves system are connected to the water pump, the air valve system are connected to the air compressor. By sending air through the air hose the water inside the tank is pushed away and get out through the water hoses at surface. Slowly each tank start to come to surface.
  • When I want to send the tanks to the sea bottom, I reverse the system. Send water through the water hoses and the air inside the tank get out by the air hoses at the surface. All the system works with pressure up to 8 bar. The tanks are located at 15 meters deep.