Switch Matrix for Keyboard

Hello,

I'm a computer programmer but beginner Arduino user, and I'm planing to build a custom musical keyboard. Arduino would read the key states and send information via serial USB, and I already made a program in my machine to read that information and do something useful, including sending MIDI to other running applications or interfaces.

Considering the keyboard has 30 keys, I started searching for how to connect these and found a lot of information on shift registers and matrix options. I was planing to use the standard matrix design, with 6x5 which consumes 11 pins and seems to solve the problem (with my Arduino Uno). However I found another solution here in the forum, with a different design: http://forum.arduino.cc/index.php?PHPSESSID=12qunhfl5e3kh04ekrgrd38u35&topic=253215.msg1792669#msg1792669

Sorry to redirect you to another page, but I'm unsure if I were allowed to reproduce the posted information here.

In that post the genius solution presented by PaulRB allows one to (if I counted it right) connect n(n-1) keys, where n is the number of pins. Is there a name for this pattern?

My concern and consequently what I'd like to ask for advice too is about speed. Since this is a keyboard, I need ideally the lower latency possible. That particular solution would allow me to expand things further, but it relies on changing pins mode from output to input constantly. Would this cause some delay, in contrast with using "traditional" matrix with constant output and input number of pins?

The code would be pretty much similar to that exemple, but with the addition of a test before writing the new state to the memory. If the value is different than before, it will send a signal over the serial port.

Thank you

I use hardware SPI for this.
It can handel both in and out for the shift registers.

See example image: