Switching High Current Loads

If you would be so kind - I want to switch a Thermoelectric Peltier Cooler (TEC1-12705) (12V - 77 Watts) using an Uno. I am an engineer but not an EE so I could use some guidance on what is simplest and cheapest device to achieve simple on off control based on temperature feedback. I would appreciate any help on what device to use: relay, SSR, MOSFET, BJT etc...

Regards
T

That 77W is not a fixed number with those TECs.
I think the TEC1-12705 (2 or 3 dollars on Ebay) is 5A at 12V.
Let's say it can vary 30%, so you need to be able to switch at least 6.5A, and for safety let's say 10A.

Two options: relay or mosfet.
With a relay is safer, because the Arduino is not connected to the power of the TECs and ground current can not destroy the Arduino.
With a mosfet is more fun and make no noise when switching.

Don't buy a 10A relay from Ebay, they might melt with 5A.
Here are some good components:
Heavy relay: Relay SPDT Sealed - 20A - COM-10924 - SparkFun Electronics
Very nice mosfet: N-Channel MOSFET 60V 30A - COM-10213 - SparkFun Electronics

That is some fast response!

Thank you for the advice, I found those MOSFETs just a few minutes ago and ordered a couple. I think the MSOFET, despite the risks, will be a cheaper solution. Can you provide any advice on circuit protection when using the MOSFET just in case?

Thanks for the help!

Kind Regards
T

An optoisolator?

Thanks again,

What about a diode in the circuit to prevent unintentional backflow to the Uno? I gave this one second of thought!

Regards
T

You protect the Arduino and the mosfet with a resistor of 150 ohm or 1k or so from the Arduino output to the gate of the mosfet.
An optocoupler can protect the Arduino for ground currents. That might be a good idea now that I think of it.
Something like the schematic here : http://forum.arduino.cc/index.php?topic=18313.msg133409#msg133409
Although I prefer the 10k to ground and the optocoupler output to the 12V and gate.