Totally newbie: Vibration vs. Accelerometer

Hello people,

Please excuse me if this is a silly silly question: I'm totally new to Arduino and in fact it is my first time thinking of a Project that might use it, so it is a good excuse to learn.

The thing is that I'm building a series of objects for a class in University that may behave in weird ways, and one of them is a mp3 player that only works while you're NOT moving. The mp3 player itself will be "monitoring" your movement and the idea is that it has to be really sensitive so it will be required the user to stand really still. The guts of the mp3 player will be "faked" in a computer, that means that the device doesn't need to be independent.

A couple of friends suggested an accelerometer like ADXL320 but I think it is too expensive for such a simple application. Then I was looking for other sensors and found this piezo vibration sensor but I'm not sure it might fit my purpose. Do you think it's a good idea or maybe there's an easier and less expensive solution?

Again, I don't need complex data, logically speaking it would be just "0" for no movement and "1" for movement. But I don't know how it would work actually, but I may try to learn :slight_smile:

Thanks in advance!

You could suspend a small metal ring between two electrodesd (all made from cheap copper wire): a movement will shake the ring an break the contact momentarily. Then use an interupt routine to detect a change of the signal.

Something similar to Martin's idea (don't debounce it, either - you want it sensitive and spurious):

Take the spring from a ballpoint pen, and feed a bare piece of wire thru the center (the wire should be as straight and parallel to the spring as possible - and centered well) as a "whisker" contact. Hook up another wire to the spring. If you can assemble all of this on a small piece of protoboard or etched PCB, all the better. Add a small weight (epoxy a small lead fishing weight) to the "top" of the spring.