transistor as switch: what value of resistor to use at the base?

am trying to create an automatic plant watering system as outlined here

its a very simple project. uses the arduino to activate the motor via a transistor, which acts as the on/off switch for the motor with a dedicated power supply. so the arduino output pin at the base activates the transistor. the author of the article says that since PN2222A is the transistor, no resistor is needed in between the arduino output and the base. but if some other transistor were to be used, what should be the value of the resistor to be used?(am intending to use the 2N2222 instead of PN2222A)

in general, how to compute this?

I'm still new to Arduino so someone else could probably chime in and correct me if i'm wrong.

You wouldn't use a resistor between the output pin because the amount of current needed to open the transistor is lower than the Arduino is capable of putting out. For example, I looked up the specs for the UNO not to long ago and I think it was 40mA per output. That means your transistors are using less than 40mA to activate them.

So look up the required current for the transistor your considering as well as the limits for the Arduino that your using and it will let you know if your going to have a problem.

As for using a resistor on the base, I don't think this would be helpful unless the the transistor had a pretty low resistance. You could find the base pins resistance and uses ohms law to calculate the current draw, see if your arduino can keep up.

cloud9: am trying to create an automatic plant watering system as outlined here

its a very simple project. uses the arduino to activate the motor via a transistor, which acts as the on/off switch for the motor with a dedicated power supply. so the arduino output pin at the base activates the transistor. the author of the article says that since PN2222A is the transistor, no resistor is needed in between the arduino output and the base.