Transistor issues or: why does this work?

Hello everyone, I'm getting a little confused here, so I hoped there's someone around who can point me to my fault..

I built a circuit that looks somewhat like this: (although i have a total of 4 transistors/LEDs)
The transistor is a 2N3904, the LEDs are standard 3.5V/30mA.
[the board is telling me I can't post images before having posted 1 normal message, so see next post for image :wink: ]

The code I'm currently running basically says something like
analogWrite(10, 64);
analogWrite(11, 64);

Works fine so far, but there's something bugging me: I'm pretty new to transistors but I thought I had read enough to know that they are for seperating two currents from each other.
Now when I disconnect one of the emitters from the 9V's ground (basically pulling out one of the 47Rs) its LEDs still remain bright.
It's making me anxious because that would mean that the whole 90mA are floating into the Arduino's ground, which is exactly what I wanted to avoid by using a transistor.. What am I missing? I always thought that if the collector-emitter-path is not closed then there won't be any current flowing? If anyone could point this out for me I'd be incredibly thankful!

Second question: I'm currently powering the right part of the circuit with a 9V block (the arduino should be getting its power from the usb port). I heard that 9Vs are not good for high currents, but I actually wanted to add a lot more LEDs (maybe 6 or more of those blocks, that would make > 540mA)
Any suggestions what would be a better power supply? I want to stitch the whole thing onto a piece of clothing, so any ideas on that would be greatly appreaciated, too!

Thanks a lot in advance! I guess things are beginning to get too complex for me..

vallee

seperating two currents from each other

Transistors AMPLIFY a current, ie you put 1 into the base and 100 flow from C to E (depending on the gain of the transistor).