Transistor switching circuit instability

Attached is a circuit I have been using for a few months to allow a WRT54G wireless router to remotely control a 220v pump motor for irrigation. (Not Arduino related but...)

Lately I have noticed that it will sometimes spontaneously go from "off" to an "oscillating" state, that is, the contactor turns on and off about 5-10 times per second.

Is there something I'm overlooking in my calculations or design?

I think the gpio from the router will source/sink 4ma.

The SSR is an OAC5 http://www.opto22.com/documents/0449_Std_Dig_AC_Outputs_data_sheet.pdf. It wants input 2.5-8v and 12ma.

It may be a week or two until I can actually go to the location to try and diagnose. Even then I'm not sure how to diagnose since it is intermittent. But there is a second pump installation there which uses the same circuit and is not having the problem. Of course it could be a bad component or a loose connection...

Thanks! John

Pump_interface.png|1160x591

Impossible to say from this limited information what the problem is, but why have the contactor? Many, if not most SSRs handle 220VAC. I've been using one with a 220VAC deep well pump for years with no problems at all.

jremington: Impossible to say from this limited information what the problem is, but why have the contactor? Many, if not most SSRs handle 220VAC. I've been using one with a 220VAC deep well pump for years with no problems at all.

Thanks for your reply. I used these SSR's because I had them from an old project.

And, I'm not sure about sizing and heat sinking that would be needed for my 2hp pump? From a bit of googling it looks like I would need an SSR rated for >= 75 amps. Combined with my <=4ma input requirement, suggests a $80-$100 SSR (Mouser prices).

Thanks, John

You could make the 1K into 2 X 4.7k and add a capacitor from the common junction to ground. Try .1 to 1uf