Unable to communicate with Modbus device

Hello everyone,

I have been scouring the forums trying to get my setup functioning and so far no luck. I am a bit of a novice so, that's isn't exactly helpful either.

I have an Arduino Mega 2560 and a piece of hardware that communicates using the Modbus standard via RS485. My RS485 converter is a MAX485.

The modbus hardware info:
-maximum polling interval of 10 ms
-32-bit Floating point or signed integer Little Endian [CDAB]
-the manual says all data is stored in 2 16-bit registers with starting addresses listed in the register map. The address below is the starting address for example.
-I am interested in measuring temperature which according to the register map verbatim is Hex address 0x41 which is type 32-bit integer.

I think part of my problem is that the library is expecting a 16-bit chunk of data and I am not exactly sure how to break this up into 2 pieces and then recombine them.

I have the MAX485 to Arduino, respectively, wired as follows:

Vcc - 5v
GND - GND
A - A on modbus device
B - B on modbus device
R0 - RX0
RE/DE - tied together to Digital pin 3
DI - TX0

I am using the ModbusMaster.h library from the Arduino IDE. There is a line near the bottom of my code, 'node.getResponseBuffer(0x00/10.00)' that I am not exactly sure what should go in place of '0x00'. The 10 is scaling I believe from other examples that I can find.

I would appreciate any resources or help that anyone can provide to get this functioning.

Thank you!

My code:

#include <ModbusMaster.h>

#define MAX485_DE      3

// instantiate ModbusMaster object
ModbusMaster node;

void preTransmission()
{
  digitalWrite(MAX485_DE, 1);
}

void postTransmission()
{
  digitalWrite(MAX485_DE, 0);
}

void setup()
{

pinMode(MAX485_DE, OUTPUT);

digitalWrite(MAX485_DE, 0);

// Modbus communication runs at 115200 baud
  Serial.begin(38400);

//Baudrate of modbus device is 38400
  Serial1.begin(38400);

// Modbus slave ID is 9
  node.begin(9, Serial1);