Using an ADS1232 with an Arduino UNO

(I’m new to external ADC’s and SPI in general, so please be patient)

I need an external ADC for a school project as the resolution of the internal ADC of the Arduino UNO/Nano/Mega is just too low. So I decided to buy one on Amazon which was already soldered (See attached picture). It arrived yesterday and I realized that I have no clue how to use it. After some googleing I found these posts:

http://forum.arduino.cc/index.php/topic,128823.0.html

I connected (based on the code I found) the following pins to my Arduino Uno:

Gain0/1 5V
REFP 5V
SPEED 5V
TEMP GND
A0 GND
CLKIN GND
DOUT D12
CLK D13
PDWN D9

The code:

#include <SPI.h>

#define MISOPIN 12

#define SCLKPIN 13

#define PDWN 9

#define A0 5

//MUX Pin Settings

//    A0    |    A1    |    Inputs

// Low  (0) | Low  (0) | AINP1 11 AINN1 12

// Low  (0) | High (1) | AINP2 18 AINN2 17

// High (1) | Low  (0) | AINP3 13 AINN3 14

// High (1) | High (1) | AINP4 16 AINN4 15

uint32_t data[3];
long val = 0;

// declare 3 bytes = 24 bits

void setup()

{

Serial.begin(9600);

pinMode(SCLKPIN, OUTPUT); pinMode(MISOPIN, INPUT); pinMode(PDWN, OUTPUT);

// corresponding to SCK pin and DRDY/DOUT pin on ADC

digitalWrite(PDWN, HIGH);

digitalWrite(A0,LOW);

reset_adc();

// put ADC on reset at the outset

SPI.begin();

SPI.setBitOrder(MSBFIRST);

SPI.setDataMode(SPI_MODE1);

// initialize SPI (with default settings, including...

// CPOL = 0: so that SCLK is normally LOW

// CPHA = 0: data sampled on rising edge (LOW to HIGH)

// perhaps try changing CPHA ??

digitalWrite(SCLKPIN, LOW);

// release ADC from reset; now we're at a known point

// in the timing diagram, and just have to wait for

// the beginning of a conversion cycle

}

void loop()

{

if (digitalRead(MISOPIN) == LOW) read_adc();

// "sort of" an interrupt to go to read_adc routine;

// can use hardware interrupt in future but now just poll

delay(100);

}

void reset_adc()