Using SDA and SCL as inputs

Hey guys,

I am fairly new to this so apologies if I ask some stupid questions!

I am building a robotic car thing as a little project and have hit a little bump in the road (metaphorically that is). Given that I have a motor shield on top of my arduino UNO clone I only have 4 pins left. These being the SDA and SCL pins on the one side, and a 5V and an apparently empty pin on the other side.

If I want to have a radio receiver as an input to the arduino, can I use the SDA and SCL pins? Otherwise do I have any other options?

Thanks all,
Henry

You can use SDA and SCL as general purpose input or output pins, including analog input on an Uno.

Only if you need to communicate with an I2C device do they become dedicated, and then only if you use the I2C hardware.

Thanks! How would I refer to them in my code?

A4 and A5

Or D18, D19.
By radio receiver, you mean like a 433 MHz receiver? Or an Xbee?

It is a 433MHz Receiver, could you possibly give me an example of a line of code about it? Or somewhere that might offer a good explanation. I've had a look around and can't quite find much about it.

It depends on which exact pins you want to use.

If you truly mean the i2c pins, then the best way to refer to them is as SDA and SCL.
That way it works for any board vs just an UNO.

So if you have a R3 or a leonardo, or mega that has the SDA and SCL header pins up by the USB connector,
the code will always use those pins.

However, if you want to refer to the header pins down towards the opposite corner of the board from the i2c pins, where the analog pins are, then use A4 and A5.
That way you will always get those two pins.

Remember that pin mappings are different for each board type so it is always best to use a symbol when available to ensure that you always get the physical pin you want. This is particularly important for the pins like i2c or the analog pins where the mapping to the digital pin numbers are quite different between boards.