Vibration Detector via Electret Mic. using Arduino Uno

Hi there!

I’m trying to build a vibration detector by using an electet mic.

The circuit as well as the microphone is set within a wooden box. When someone hits the box, an alarm-sound should play.
So when the Voltage provided by the circuit exceeds a certain value in volts a variable for further dealing should be set.

The alarm sound with speaker and such is already done. The only thing missing is the mic. circuit.

My biggest fear is, that i destroy the Arduino Uno, since this is my first try creating a circuit with an electret mic. & an Op-amp.
So my Problem is the correct dimensions of the elements which are used.

unfortunately i don’t own an oscilloscope for proper testing :frowning:

The circuit so far:
http://img4host.net/upload/0611204652ca837ed67ac.png

EM-5SB: The electret Mic.
NE5534AP: OP-AMP, inverting mode
R1, R2: Gain Modulation
Diode: rectification of the signal
R3: limits the current going into the Arduino Uno

Datasheets:
Mic:
http://img4host.net/upload/0611505652ca8a9001143.jpg
OP-Amp:
http://pdf1.alldatasheet.com/datasheet-pdf/view/95835/TI/NE5534AP.html

So can anybody tell me:

• if the circuit is correct
  • how the resistors (in ohm) and the diode need to be like, that i definitely DO NOT HARM the uno

greetings Max

Everything looks safe...

The +5V supply to the op-amp will insure that nothing higher than +5V can go into the Arduino, and the diode will block any negative voltages.

...But,

1. Electret mics need power. The datasheet shows RL (2.2K) going to ....something. It should go to +5V. Then, you need the capacitor to block the DC power from the op-amp. (The capacitor value depends on the input impedance of your op-amp (R1).

2. Since the output impedance of the mic is 2K, and you already have 2.2K with the power-bias resistor, I'd recommend increasing the resistor values in the op-amp circuit. I'd suggest 10K for R1.