Voice controlled A/C remote.

A few weeks ago I had my first air conditioner installed. After a while I noticed that it would be useful to control the A/C with voice rather than the manual remote.

I would first like to mention I am a hardware newbie, never really built anything before, but I am better with programming.
I want to build a self-sustained device(implies no connection to the PC except when uploading new firmware/program) that listens for speech which would be mapped to IR commands which are sent to the A/C. Verbal commands like ON/OFF, UP/DOWN for temperature control and say MODE 1,2,3... for choosing whether to cool or heat up the room.

I am not even sure if Arduino is up for the task, so this is why I am asking here for general feasibility and arduino feasibility. I mean, several components will need to be integrated, like an IR blaster, voice recognition module and perhaps the main controller.

Also, while English voice recognition would suffice, my native language is not English so a plus would be the voice recognition module to have support for other languages.

Anyway, I am looking for an inexpensive way to build this device, with a feature full SDK for the programming. And some device that would let me reverse engineer the IR protocol of my current A/C remote.

I can foresee problems with using voice recognition.
You get angry with someone and tell them to '*/&!<^ off' and your A/C turns off!
Or you come in tired, announce that you're going to sit down for 10 minutes and your A/C turns itself down!
You'll have to exclude all the command words from your vocabulary, except when you want to adjust the A/C. :slight_smile:

Should be a fun project.

Step 1: Get your arduino controlling the AC unit using the IRremote or IRLib library.
Step 2: Use your PC.MAC with some free voice recognition tool to send the IR command via the Arduino